

KAPPA TAU ALPHA

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY IN JOURNALISM AND MASS COMMUNICATION

National Headquarters

Kappa Tau Alpha School of Journalism University of Missouri Columbia, MO 65211-1200

Tel: 573-882-7685

umcjourkta@missouri.edu www.KappaTauAlpha.org

President
Raluca Cozma
Kansas State University
cozma@ksu.edu

Vice President
Patrick C. File
University of Nevada, Reno
pfile@unr.edu

Past President
Bill Cassidy
Northern Illinois University
bcassidy@olemiss.edu

Executive Director
Beverly J. Horvit
University of Missouri

March 31, 2025
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

West Virginia University Professor Wins Kappa Tau Alpha Adviser of the Year Award

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Bob Britten, a teaching professor at the Reed School of Media and Communications at West Virginia University, will be recognized as the Kappa Tau Alpha Adviser of the Year at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication conference in San Francisco this August.

Britten, who earned his Ph.D. from the University of Missouri where Kappa Tau Alpha was founded, is the 41st recipient of the William H. Taft Outstanding Adviser Award.

"Dr. Bob Britten is most deserving of this recognition. In addition to his long service as KTA advisor at WVU, each year he educates attendees at our school's student and alumni award ceremony about the organization's history and importance," said Diana Martinelli, director at the WVU School of Media and Communications.

Britten has served as West Virginia University's KTA adviser since 2012, actively fostering a culture of academic excellence and professional integrity among journalism and mass communication students.

"He regularly attends KTA meetings at AEJMC conferences and is an excellent role model of KTA's values: knowledge, truth and accuracy. Students and colleagues alike hold Bob in high regard, and we are thrilled he is receiving this national-level award," Martinelli said.

Beverly Horvit, executive director of KTA, said she has appreciated Britten's assistance in screening books for KTA's annual research contest and helping to select finalists for the society's student scholarship.

"The time Dr. Britten devotes to Kappa Tau Alpha does not go unnoticed," Horvit said.

The Taft Award is named for William H. Taft, a University of Missouri journalism professor who served as KTA's executive director from 1962 to 1991. The award has been presented annually since 1945 and comes with a \$500 honorarium.

Kappa Tau Alpha, the national honor society for journalism and mass communication, was founded at the University of Missouri and has 99 chapters at colleges and universities nationwide.