

KAPPA TAU ALPHA

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY IN JOURNALISM AND MASS COMMUNICATION

April 30, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

University of Texas at Arlington professor wins Kappa Tau Alpha adviser of year award

Journalism Associate Professor Erika Pribanic-Smith will be recognized at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication conference in Philadelphia this August as the Kappa Tau Alpha adviser of the year.

The University of Texas at Arlington professor is the 40th winner of the William H. Taft Outstanding Adviser Award. She is scheduled to receive the award on Aug. 10 at the AEJMC convention.

"Dr. Pribanic-Smith is dedicated to student excellence in journalism and honoring students for their achievements," said Charla Markham Shaw, chair of the UTA Department of Communication. "She is a valued colleague."

Beverly Horvit, executive director of KTA, said the award is well deserved.

"I always appreciate Erika's willingness to help screen books for our annual contest," Horvit said. "She is integral to helping advance KTA's goals of promoting scholarship."

Pribanic-Smith received her master's degree from the University of Alabama and was inducted into KTA there in 1999. Now, the coordinator of the journalism sequence of the Department of Communication, Pribanic-Smith has served as the University of Texas at Arlington's KTA adviser since 2012.

The Taft Award is named for William H. Taft, a University of Missouri journalism professor who served as KTA's executive director from 1962 to 1991. The award has been awarded annually since 1945 and comes with a \$500 check.

Kappa Tau Alpha, the national honor society for journalism and mass communication, was founded at the University of Missouri and has 100 chapters at colleges and universities nationwide

National Headquarters

Kappa Tau Alpha School of Journalism University of Missouri Columbia, MO 65211-1200

Tel: 573-882-7685

umcjourkta@missouri.edu www.KappaTauAlpha.org

President Bill Cassidy Northern Illinois University bcassidy@niu.edu

Vice President Raluca Cozma Kansas State University cozma@ksu.edu

Past President Edward L. Carter Brigham Young University ed_carter@byu.edu

Executive Director Beverly J. Horvit University of Missouri