KAPPA TAU ALPHA MISSOURI SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM COLUMBIA, MO 65211-1200

April 5, 2021 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Beverly Horvit, umcjourkta@missouri.edu, 573-882-0880

USC Annenberg professor wins Mott Award for Bearing Witness While Black

COLUMBIA, Mo. – Allissa V. Richardson's *Bearing Witness While Black: African Americans, Smartphones & the New Protest #Journalism* is the winner of the Frank Luther Mott/Kappa Tau Alpha Research Award for the best book on journalism and mass communication based on original research published in 2020.

Richardson's book provides a timely inquiry into the work of African American activists to document fatal police encounters and ensure debate about excessive police force. The book was published by Oxford University Press.

"Richardson's thought-provoking and compelling work details the importance of storytelling for racial justice," said Ed Carter, national president of Kappa Tau Alpha and a contest judge.

Carter, director of the School of Communications at Brigham Young University, said *Bearing Witness While Black* builds on the activist legacy of the Black press and illustrates the power of alternative forms of documentation and protest, rights that need to be protected.

Richardson is assistant professor of journalism at the University of Southern California's Annenberg School. Her research is informed by her work as a journalism innovator who created mobile journalism college newsrooms. The award is to be presented at the virtual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication this August.

Named in honor of Frank Luther Mott, Pulitzer Prize winner, educator and longtime leader of Kappa Tau Alpha, the award honors the best research-based book about journalism or mass communication published during the year.

Kappa Tau Alpha, the national college honor society founded in 1910 for scholarship in journalism and mass communication, has recognized research contributions to the field since the inauguration of the award in 1944. The winning author receives a \$1,000 prize.

Other finalists were W. Joseph Campbell for Lost in a Gallup: Polling Failure in U.S. Presidential Elections (University of California Press); John Maxwell Hamilton for Manipulating the Masses: Woodrow Wilson and the Birth of American Propaganda (LSU Press); Victor Pickard for Democracy Without Journalism: confronting the misinformation society (Oxford University Press); Sarah Sobieraj, Credible Threat: Attacks Against Women Online and the Future of Democracy (Oxford University Press); and Andrea Wenzel for Community-Centered Journalism: Engaging People, Exploring Solutions, and Building Trust (University of Illinois Press).